REJECTED!!!

Nobody likes it, but it happens to all of us. It’s really not cool. But unfortunately, rejection is just another part of life.

Being a PR professional, dealing with rejection when it comes to pitches is something we are going to have to learn to appreciate, even though it might hurt just a little bit. I found an article on PR Daily, entitled, “What you should learn from rejected pitches”. It immediately made me think about how I would handle that situation once I am in PR. How would I react? Would I take it personally? Or would I be able to step back and look at it as a learning opportunity? After reading this article, I think I will be able to. So to all of us wanting to go into PR, here are the tips to deal with rejection of when it comes to pitch you have worked so hard on.

1. Don’t be sad, learn from your mistakes so you don’t make them again. Just like taking a test, see what went wrong before you approach it again.

2. Keep an eye on what pitch the reporter picked over yours. Maybe your pitch just wasn’t something they weren’t interested in covering. So don’t take it personally. It’s not you, I promise.

3. It’s not the end of the world. Learn how to better your pitches from rejected ones so they become the ones that get picked first next time!

And to read the full article, with even more great advice, click here.

One thought on “REJECTED!!!

  1. Tommy says:

    I think this incredibly sage advice as most of us prepare to enter our fields. We put so much pressure on ourselves to find success so early that we are paralyzed by a fear of not achieving our goals. Failure is good. Being rejected builds your knowledge of what works, and could open doors you never saw at first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

