#iHeartRadio on College Campuses

When trying to reach college students, I think we all know the best way is through social media. As a college student myself, I know that getting our attention through advertising must be innovative and attention grabbing in a social media setting. But what about on campus? Every day we are bombarded with advertisements all over campus as well.

How does a company reach their target market on campus through the hustle and bustle of every day student life? The answer seems easy – guerrilla marketing.

Guerrilla marketing not only grabs attention but also peaks interest. Companies like Old Navy, Nike, and Victoria’s Secret Pink line have launched campaigns on college campuses in attempt to gain a greater following amongst this market of young adults.

iHeartRadio is a free, all-in-one digital radio and music streaming service that lets you listen to thousands of Live Stations from across the country and allows you to create personalized Custom Stations featuring songs from the artist you select and similar music.

iHeartRadio’s most recent campaign is targeted towards college students who are away at school. They wanted to introduce these students to iHeartRadio as a way for them to stay connected with their hometown radio station. They did this is the most innovative way college campuses have ever seen.

This five week campaign is stopping at college campuses in the Midwest and South, including Arizona State University, the University of Texas and Florida State University. Unfortunately, ACU didn’t make the cut. T-shirt vending machines are placed on campus and students are encouraged to take Instagram photos as payment for iHeartRadio t-shirts. These efforts have racked up 5.7 million impressions in the first week alone.

iHeartRadio employees have found this to be much more successful and engaging than setting up and tent and trying to lure in students passing by. Is on-campus marketing through vending machines going to be the trend of the future?

4 thoughts on “#iHeartRadio on College Campuses

  1. This is fantastic. I know I really miss my hometown radio stations while I’m in little Abilene. I also know that posting an Instagram to get a tee shirt is something I would definitely do. I don’t know a college student that would pass up a shirt that they didn’t have to pay money for. Great post!

    Like

  2. Margo Herrera says:

    I love this post! On-campus marketing through vending machines would honestly be the coolest thing ever. I think iheart radio will continue to be very successful among college campuses because the campaign is doing such a great job by connecting with college students the right way. College students love music, free stuff and social media, so what better way to advertise than putting all those things together?! Maybe in the future they will make it to ACU.

    Like

  3. Brantly Houston says:

    This is insanely creative! I love the idea of posting a photo for a free shirt. I know I’ve been to an on-campus event where I could download an app for a free shirt, but honestly I deleted the app not long after I left. I would be more inclined to leave an Instagram photo up because it’s not taking space on my phone.

    Also of note, I have heard of iHeartRadio a lot but never actually knew what it was. Branding mistake on their part? Possibly, but I think this guerilla marketing strategy is a great way to get their product out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

