Lessons learned in JMC 450

This week, I discovered a new form of writing that I really enjoy. I’ve always loved writing features because you get to meet the most interesting people and write about their passions. I’m in love with the way people’s eyes light up when they describe the job they do or the talent they have. And, honestly, there’s nothing better than asking the perfect question, and you know you have because the person sitting across from you can’t stop talking about whatever you asked and there are tears in their eyes and they’re glowing.

However, this week in my Feature Writing class, we had to record an audio feature. I decided to do mine on The Friendship House and join them for a community lunch to record sound. And at first, I was terrified. I had no clue where to start or if any of it would sound good enough to be put in a feature. All the NPR audio features I had listened to had such raw emotion in the voices of the people and I didn’t even know what questions to ask to get those.

Once I got there, though, it was so fun. Not only did I need to think about how to get the emotions of the people across, like in writing, but I also got to listen for ambient sounds that would tell the story. So that meant, I was recording sounds of glasses clinking, people laughing, and food being put on plates. I really enjoyed it because it was so much easier to put the audience in your shoes at that moment because they could hear exactly what was happening.

In recording my audio, I learned a few things. First of all, though audio recording may not be my strongest suit, I enjoyed a chance to stretch my creativity and writing skills. Secondly, learning audio features makes me a well-rounded journalist to be able to write and record stories. And finally, and most importantly, to really stand out in the field of journalism, we have to be willing to take chances on new types of writing as well as always be ready to learn new technologies.

One thought on “Lessons learned in JMC 450

  1. The laughter, clinking classes, and food hitting plates is a great reminder of how much sensory information we ignore unless we actively listen for it. Thanks for sharing your experience of capturing an audio story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

