GoPro Hero 4 – Follow Up

It’s official, the Hero 4 is out!

In my previous post about the coming Hero camera, I looked briefly at the origin story of GoPro and how the creator really focused on the joy of creating and telling visual stories. In this post I want to focus more on the specific features of the new Hero 4 Cameras.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 2.41.53 PM

To be brutally honest, I was very sad after reading the official specs for the new Hero 4 BLACK edition. In my previous post I talked about how excited I was for the LCD touch screen back. Well, I am sad to say that the new Hero 4 BLACK edition does not contain this cool new feature. The new LCD touch screen back is only offered in the Hero 4 SILVER version. But the sadness was short-lived as I continued to look at the other specs.

The Hero 4 does indeed have the capability to record in 4K at 30 frames per second. That is a huge step up from the Hero 3’s 4k at 15 frames a second. Also, at full 1080 HD, the Hero 3 could record at a max frame rate of 60fps. The Hero 4 BLACK reaches new heights with its 1080 HD at 120 fps. When overcranked, that comes down to be 4x slower than real-time. The amount of cool things you can record and convert to slow motion is uncountable!

There are several other really cool features that the Hero 4 offers. Night Photo and Night Lapse allows for better low light photos and time lapses. “QuikCapture” allows you to turn on the camera and start recording with only pressing one button. Also, GoPro has stated that the audio recording now has “2x the dynamic range of the Hero 3”.

To close out my full opinion on the specs of the Hero 4, I have to be honest and say I wasn’t too pleased with the battery life ratings. Overall, The Hero 4 actually has slightly less battery life than the Hero 3. I am guessing that is due to the drastically improved image quality. Personally I would consider that a reasonable sacrifice for the unrealistically magical images that you can capture with the GoPro Hero 4.

In summary, would I buy the Hero 4? – Yes, Yes I would…… if I had that kind of money :/

All of the specs and more can be found and referenced from GoPro’s website.

3 thoughts on “GoPro Hero 4 – Follow Up

  1. I’m so glad that you posted this! I have been hearing things about the Hero 4 for awhile and was needing a relatively unbiased view on it. It’s definitely moved up on my consideration list, but of course the money part might be my biggest hesitation. Who knows, maybe waiting a bit for the price to drop might get me the Hero 4 before I know it! I’m totally willing to give up battery life for improved quality, but I am pretty disheartened about the lack of LCD touch screen.
    I’d say I still have a lot of pondering to do, but I’m glad to hear your input!

    Like

  2. Brantly Houston says:

    I would love to see a video shot with this new camera! We use the Hero 3 for Life on the Hill (but you knew that, Tim!) and while it shoots decent video, there is still something a little off about it. I also love that it has a night capture feature. I would love to work with one of these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

