Lessons from the Gilmores

Some of my favorite memories growing up are cuddling on the couch with my mom watching my favorite show, Gilmore Girls. The mother-daughter dynamic duo taught me many life lessons. Lorelei and Rory taught me that you don’t always have to be sensible, following your heart can be just as beneficial as using your brain. They helped me realize that sometimes the best medicine is a burger, fries and a black and white movie. Most importantly, they taught me that I could achieve anything with a little bit of courage and a lot of hard work.

Now, thanks to PRDaily, they are teaching me 3 more important lessons pertaining to my future career in PR.

Be Aware: No two women were more aware of pop culture than the Gilmore women, constantly referencing current events and staying up to date with the culture, I am learning how incredibly important it is to stay up to date with everything that is going on in the world.

Read: Rory might possibly be the reason why I grew up loving to read books. I’m not sure if she described books in terms that I understood or if I just wanted to be more like my favorite TV character but growing up with my nose in books has helped me so much when learning to communicate with people. There is so much beauty in words and in my opinion, if you want to be well written and eloquent in your language, books are where you learn how.

Be critique-able: Lastly, the so precious Emily Gilmore teaches us that people are going to criticize you. Your entire life, there is always someone there to point out any flaws you may or may not be aware of. When this occurs you can either A) take it, reflect on it and try to embrace the possibility of change. B) take it and do absolutely nothing or C) ignore them. I personally recommend option A. There is absolutely no harm in accepting criticism especially when it’s given in a tone that is truly just trying to help you improve. We all have Emilys, try and take it like a Lorelei.

I’m confident that as I continue to watch Gilmore Girls I’ll find more ways to apply their experiences to my life and to my career but for now, I feel like these are sufficient.

http://www.prdaily.com/Main/Articles/17416.aspx

4 thoughts on “Lessons from the Gilmores

  1. Rea Ann,
    I have to be honest and say, I have never seen the Gilmore Girls show. But I do like the points you made here. Be Aware, Read, and Be Critique-able. Those are three pieces of darn good advice right there. Being aware applies to literally ever aspect of life. I see how it plays a huge roll in PR. It also plays a huge roll in video production! Reading is definitely not my favorite thing to do, but it is a crucial skill and I am blessed that I can read and can use it to gain knowledge. Being critique-able is so crucial in the film industry. The moment you think you know it all, is the moment you stop learning. I will continue to be humbled in the film industry and I will continue to learn.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Great post Rae Ann! I absolutely adore Gilmore Girls and have grown up watching the show. Their autographed picture hangs in my room at home. I love how you applied great PR advice to one of your favorite shows. Being aware, reading, and being critique-able are so critical to life in the PR world. I think being critique-able was especially good advice. I loved how you said that “everyone will have an Emily.” In life there will always be someone critiquing you and you have to learn how you are going to respond.

    Like

  3. I loved this post Rae Ann. I actually think I might have squealed in excitement when I saw Gilmore Girls because this will forever be my favorite show. I can quote it like its nobodies business, but thats another topic for another time. I loved seeing how you took career inspiration from the show. This show taught so many valuable life lessons, so I loved to see how you found different ways to make it fit into your career! Awesome job girl!! Rory would be proud 🙂

    Like

  4. Daniel Zepeda says:

    Rae Ann,
    As soon as I saw the title of this post, I figured I should check it out. I have never seen the show until recently, when my girlfriend forced me to binge watch it with her. I have to say, it wasn’t that bad. All these points you made are dead on. I think whatever field you are in, it is very important to stay up to date on current events especially. Knowing what is going on in culture is a great way to stay ahead of the game. Great read Rae Ann.

    Like

Leave a Reply

