Entrepreneurs and the Necessity of Advertising

My whole life I’ve grown up with the notion that I would work for myself. My teachers and family have always been supportive. I believe the desire to be self-employed derives from my drive to create things. I’ve loved building since I was a child, and I have been known to still pull out the Legos from time to time.

For the last two years I have been employed by the ACU Maker Lab. It’s been an awesome experiment for the library, and I’ve been very proud to be involved with the Maker Lab and help shape its development. While working there I’ve come to obtain a skillset that I never expected. I get paid to use equipment more expensive than a semester at ACU, and I’ve been able to produce products that are worth selling. That being said, it’s always frustrating when people tell me they want to buy things I’ve made. Not because it’s pesty, but because I want to sell them.

It’s unbelievably frustrating having a sellable product while being confined to a market-vacuum. This is where advertising comes in handy, and I think is a priceless experience for whatever business I plan to operate. The lesson I’ve come to learn is this: NO MATTER HOW GOOD ANY PRODUCT IS, QUALLITY is IRRELEVANT if no one knows about your product.

I’m not saying that quality doesn’t matter; in fact I believe the complete opposite. Quality in itself is an act of PR, and necessary for a business to retain it’s customers. Advertising is just necessary to get those customers there in the first place.

One thought on “Entrepreneurs and the Necessity of Advertising

  1. “That being said, it’s always frustrating when people tell me they want to buy things I’ve made. Not because it’s pesty, but because I want to sell them.”

    If you have people asking you to sell them, Im having a hard time understanding why you were not allowed to sell the product you made? Because then you go onto say you need more advertising so you can sell the products.

    Like

Leave a Reply

