“You play ball like a girl!”

“You play ball like a girl.”

This quote is from one of my favorite movies that was the movie of my childhood. The Sandlot. “Like a girl” for as long as I can remember has had a negative connotation to it. It was meant to be an insult on the playground, a way to make a person feel bad about themselves. A Proctor & Gamble brand, Always decided to change that. Their latest campaign titled “like a girl” has the goals to alter the way that this phrase is viewed.

In the viral video, they ask a series of adults to demonstrate what it means to “run like a girl, throw like a girl, and fight like a girl” and they demonstrated sad attempts at each of these tasks, because that is what they thought of when heard to do an action “like a girl”. The then asked young girls the same question, and their response was much different. Their running was fierce, with a determined look in their eyes, and when the interviewer asked a young girl what it meant to run like a girl, she responded “it means to run as fast as you can.” After the adults realized what happened, most of them were quick to change their answer. The last line of the video an older girl saying, “why can’t run like a girl also mean win the race.”

With this campaign, Always is following in the footsteps of Dove with their “Real Beauty” campaign, and countless others who are taking the approach to “rewrite the rules” to look at their consumers, and have their consumers look at themselves in a different light. To give empowerment to not only the people who are buying their products, but to everyone, to give people new perspectives on clichés. This campaign strategy is very relevant right now, and I have a feeling we will see more of advertisements like this in the future.

4 thoughts on ““You play ball like a girl!”

  1. I loved the Dove campaign, I thought it was so inspiring. It is interesting to hear what Always is doing to try to promote empowerment to everyone! Oh The Sandlot is one of my favorite movies.

    Like

  2. Daniel Zepeda says:

    I found this really interesting. It’s amazing that just between one generation, the views on the same issue can be so different. I think the effect of this ad is extremely hard-hitting and eye-opening.

    Like

  3. I remember this campaign. It came on before a YouTube video and after 30 seconds, I could hit the “Skip” button. However, it caught my attention so well that instead of skipping to my video like I usually do, I stopped and watched the entire commercial. I always like commercials that have a deeper meaning than just selling a product.

    Like

  4. mrh10f says:

    I did the exact same thing Linsey did! I went to watch something on YouTube and that campaign came on and I couldn’t skip it. I ended up searching for it after it finished because I wanted to watch it again! It’s so powerful and really does so much more than just advertising a product.

    Like

Leave a Reply

