Design in the Digital Age

I recently read an article from a blog I follow that focuses on creative arts in the church that talked about graphic design in the world of digital. The article is written by the church’s graphic designer who is constantly receiving questions about how they design things that connect with so many people and he then states that the most frequent question people ask is, “What font is that?” He then goes on to explain that most of the time it is not a font at all, it is something that was drawn in a sketchbook and then scanned to digital. Essentially his point for the whole article  is that you should always start on paper and remove all of the distractions of the digital tools we have at our disposal.

I found this to be an interesting approach and frankly one that is passed over by millennials who are often so eager to go paperless, but it made me think about how this approach could be applied to video production. The more I thought about it and thought back to previous experiences of my own I realized that starting on paper is a very effective way to plan your video.

This process is often called storyboarding and is a large part of preproduction for large scale videos and film, but amateurs often overlook it. I think storyboarding is a great way to work on any video because of one specific reason: it requires you to visualize every single shot before you even arrive on location. Getting into this habit will train you to become a better storyteller and help you not get bogged down by gear and functions of cameras. So next time you plan to do a video try to storyboard it on paper first, I think you will immediately realize the benefits that come with a few pieces of paper covered in pencil.

The original article from Greg Vennerholm is available here and has great visuals to help get you started: https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/blog/post/361

2 thoughts on “Design in the Digital Age

  1. rar11b says:

    I found this truly interesting and it reminded me of some of the art classes that I’ve taken over my time at ACU. In many of my Interior Design classes we learned that the easiest way to get rid of bad ideas is to write them all down and then start with a freshly emptied mind. You’re then able sketch what you see in your head and draw something that makes sense. You’re able to design something functional now that your imagination isn’t crowded. There’s really not a technique that can replace simply emptying your mind and starting clean. I do find it interesting that this concept could probably be applied to every day life. Removing all distractions and going back to the basics of life, just the essentials could really do the world some good.

    Like

  2. Brance,
    I could not agree more with you, and Greg, regarding the importance of getting things down on paper before you move to the digital realm. Being a film-fanatic myself, I have recently discovered the amazing benefits of storyboarding during pre-production. Before I knew what storyboarding was, I would arrive at a set or location and have no idea where I wanted my shots to be. I will never forget the first time I storyboarded for a shoot; it went unrealistically smooth, so smoothly that it may never be that easy again. I like how you mentioned that storyboarding will “help you become a better story teller”. Because what is film besides visual stories. And the better you can depict your story visually, the more convincing of a story you can create.

    Like

Leave a Reply

